2GIG Edge: Deleting a Zone

2GIG Edge: Deleting a Zone


Related Products

2GIG Edge w/ Verizon LTE - Wireless Alarm Control Panel
2GIG Edge w/ Verizon LTE
Wireless Alarm Control Panel
List Price: $570.00
Our Price: $370.99
2GIG Edge w/ AT&T LTE - Wireless Alarm Control Panel
2GIG Edge w/ AT&T LTE
Wireless Alarm Control Panel
List Price: $570.00
Our Price: $370.99

Description

In this video, Jorge from Alarm Grid shows you how to delete a zone on your 2GIG Edge Security System. Deleting a zone refers to the process of clearing out or resetting an existing zone so that it can be reprogrammed with a new sensor. You never really "delete" a zone from the 2GIG Edge. No matter what, the 2GIG Edge always, from a technical standpoint, has 100 wireless zones on the system. It's just a matter of whether or not all 100 of those zones are actively being used. It's actually pretty rare that you would go and use all 100 wireless zones on the 2GIG Edge, and it's fair to expect that some of the zones would be left open and unprogrammed on the security system.

When you delete a zone from the 2GIG Edge, it's not that you are making the zone "go away" or no longer exist. Rather, you are just clearing out the zone information so that the zone is open and available so that a new sensor can be programmed in place of the old one. This is normally required in two (2) situations. For one, if you no longer want to use a sensor with a system, and you no longer want the system to respond to activity from a given sensor, then deleting the associated zone is something that you will probably want to do. The second situation is if you have used up all 100 wireless zones and you have a sensor that you want to use with the system AND is more important than at least one (1) existing sensor that is still programmed with the system. You would delete the less important sensor so that its zone slot is open and available, and then program the more important sensor in its place.

https://www.alarmgrid.com/faq/how-do-i-delete-a-zone-from-my-2gig-edge

http://alrm.gd/get-monitored


Transcript

Hey, DIYers, Jorge from Alarm Grid here. Today, I'm going to show you guys how to delete a zone from your 2GIG Edge security system. So if you guys have a 2GIG Edge system and you guys have a bunch of sensors programmed in and there isn't one that's functioning the way you want it to function, you may want to remove it and replace it with a new one, right? So to do that, you need to delete it or reset it, is actually what it's referred to in the 2GIG Edge system, and I'm going to show you guys how to do that. Couple of things you will need, though. You're going to need the installer code. The default installer code for pretty much every 2GIG system out there is 1561. Now, that is the default installer code. That's what comes with the system when it's brand new. That code can be changed, all right? So if you guys have had a little company install it for you, they may have changed it. So if 1561 does not work for you, you will need to get that installer code if you want to go in and delete a sensor or program in a new sensor, All right? So to get into programming, we need the installer code, and we need to go first into this little gear icon here in the bottom right hand corner of the system. So you're going to hit the gear icon this is where it's going to ask you for the code. I'm going to enter in my code. Mine is defaulted at 1561. Once I enter in 1561, I need to scroll down the page and go to Installer Toolbox. Once I'm there, if you go into Panel Programming and go into your wireless zones, because that's what we're deleting, you'll be taken to your zone list. I actually only have one sensor programmed into mine. The rest of them are all grayed out. And the one I have programmed is-- whoops. The one I have programmed is my living room window. Now, if you look on the bottom left, there is a Reset Zone. So what you're doing is just deleting or resetting all the information that's assigned to that specific zone, which is zone number 1 for me. So essentially, if I hit Reset Zone, it's going to ask me to confirm it. So yes, I want to delete it. I want to reset it. It'll clear everything out. The information is no longer there, and now you have a zone available to program in your new one. We have a video on how to program in zones, so make sure you check that out, as well, if you need help programming in a sensor. All right? Once you delete the zone, that device will no longer work on the system. So if you're replacing it, you can send that back in, get your RMA, your warranty replacement, whatever it is you're doing with the alarm company. But it's already deleted. You can use that zone for any other sensor you want to use. I'm going to go ahead and hit the back arrow key on the top right corner. I'm just going to repeatedly tap it until it brings me out to my main screen. And now the system will go into a ready to arm. The sensor is no longer there. And this is the device I had programmed in before. I had it labeled as my living room window. If I go ahead and open and close it, it is no longer reporting to the system. So the system-- the sensor is no longer being read by the system because I deleted all this sensor's information from that system. All right? If you guys have any questions on deleting or reprogramming in anything on the 2GIG Edge system, please feel free to reach out. Our email is support@alarmgrid.com. You can also call the number at the top for our website. And if you find the video helpful, just make sure you hit Like underneath. Subscribe to the YouTube channel and hit the little bell icon so whenever we upload new content, you guys get notified. I'm Jorge, and I'll see you guys next time.


Uploaded