Reviews

2GIG CP-DESK - Go!Control Panel Desktop Mount

Incredible Desk Mount
Submitted on 10/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The 2GIG CP-DESK is an amazing desk mount that does exactly what it needs to do. This device is capable of making a multitude of different 2GIG Panels and 2GIG Keypads stand up straight and avoid having to mount it to the wall or lay it flat. For many users, this is ultimately the best and most convenient option available. If you can't drill holes, or if you simply do not want to drill holes, then enter the 2GIG CP-DESK! The product serves its role perfectly, which is why we give a 5-Star Rating.

Some of the panels and keypads used with the 2GIG CP-DESK include the 2GIG GC2, 2GIG GC3, 2GIG SP1 Keypad, and 2GIG SP2 Keypad. It even works with the new 2GIG GC2e and 2GIG GC3e Systems! If you thought this was a busy desk stand, then you are correct. The sheer number of different devices that can theoretically be used with this keypad is quite incredible! Even if you are using the 2GIG CP-DESK with an older 2GIG Panel or 2GIG Keypad and then upgrade to a newer module, odds are you will be able to bring the desk mount over to the new equipment. How convenient.

And you don't need to question the performance of the 2GIG CP-DESK. It's great! The desk mount will keep the panel or keypad nice and sturdy, which sure beats laying it flat. Many users find using a desk mount like the 2GIG CP-DESK to be a more convenient option than having to mount the panel or keypad to the wall. This is especially true for users living in a rental property, where they may not be permitted by the building owner to drill permanent holes into the wall. And with a desk mount, it becomes much easier to take the system or keypad with you if you ever decide to move. We love this desk mount That is why we give it 5 Stars.

Good: Works with many 2GIG Products, Keeps panel or keypad sturdy.

Bad: None

Bottom Line: 5 Stars

System Sensor COSMO-2W - 2-Wire Carbon Monoxide and Smoke Detector

Difficult to Use
Submitted on 10/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The System Sensor COSMO-2W is a hardwired combination smoke and CO detector. It is a 2-wire device, but it cannot be used with a specified "reset zone" like a 2-wire smoke detector would. Instead, you have to add a separate System Sensor COSMOD2W i4 Interface Module, a reset relay and a CO trigger relay for it to work. This makes the sensor very difficult to program and genuinely more inconvenient than other hardwired life-safety sensor options. The technicians at Alarm Grid do not enjoy working with this sensor, and we do not usually recommend it to our customers. However, it does work well when configured properly, and it is one-go-all-go, which is pretty nice. This device is not easy to work with, which is why we only give it a 2-Star rating.

Having a smoke detector and a carbon monoxide detector in one single device is a novel concept. At first, it may seem like a good idea. It would reduce the number of sensors you need to add to your system. And since this sensor is one-go-all-go, it seems like a winning situation. But really, it is much more hassle than it is worth. Since smoke detectors and CO detectors require different zone settings, you need two (2) separate zones for the device. But since you only have one sensor, it can't wire to two separate zone terminals, at least not on its own. That is where the COSMOD2W i4 Interface Module enters the equation. This module allows the system to understand that one (1) hardwired sensor is being used with (2) different zones. And then you still need the reset relay and the CO trigger relay.

Setting up and programming the COSMO-2W and a COSMOD2W i4 Interface Module is not a pretty process. Most DIY users will not want to take on this challenge. The easiest option if you are wanting to use hardwired smoke and CO detectors is to use a compatible 2-wire smoke at the designated smoke detector zone (e.g. Zone 1 on a VISTA P-Series Panel), and use 4-wire CO detectors at any other hardwired zone. This will require no special equipment, and everything will function beautifully. And you will still be using the same number of zones as you would with a COSMO-2W!

We do not recommend purchasing both a COSMO-2W, a COSMOD2W i4 Interface Module, a reset relay, and a CO trigger relay and trying to set up this configuration from scratch. It is difficult for DIYers. But if you already have this type of set up configured, and you need to add an additional sensor, then buying a COSMO-2W makes sense. No programming will be required, as it will already be completed. Otherwise, using this sensor does not make sense. We give it a 2-Star Rating.

Good: It works well when set up properly; One-Go-All-Go.

Bad: Difficult to set up; Requires separate COSMOD module, reset relay, and CO trigger relay.

Bottom Line: 2 Stars.

Winland TEMP-L-W - Waterproof Low Temperature Sensor

Great Accessory for Winland EA200 EnviroAlert!
Submitted on 10/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Winland TEMP-L-W is a waterproof low temperature sensor that is used for monitoring the temperature in a pool or hot tub. In order to use this device, you must connect it with a Winland EA200 EnviroAlert Sensor. Needless to say, this makes the Winland TEMP-L-W a relatively niche product. But that does not mean it's a bad one. It has a very impressive temperature detection range, and it works quite well for what it does. That is why we give the Winland TEMP-L-W a 5-Star Rating.

Monitoring the temperature of your pool or hot tub can be very important. A broken heating unit could lead to an unpleasant surprise the next time you decide to go for a swim. Worse yet, if this occurs during the winter months, then it could result in catastrophic damage. The advantage to using the Windland TEMP-L-W with the Winland EA200 EnviroAlert is that your alarm system will be able to effectively monitor the temperature for your pool or hot tub. If the temperature drops too low, then your system can respond to the event and trigger a predetermined response. This can be very important for being able to take proper action before serious damage occurs.

The Winland TEMP-L-W is really just a waterproof temperature probe for the Winland EA200 EnviroAlert. While it may be a very simple product, it does offer some impressive features. What's incredible is that this sensor is capable of detecting temperatures as low as negative (-) 58 degrees Fahrenheit. That's pretty impressive! On the high temperature end, the Winland TEMP-L-W can sense up to 158 degrees Fahrenheit. That's a coverage range of 216 degrees Fahrenheit! Really, you can use the Winland TEMP-L-W as both a high and low temperature sensor, but using it as a low temperature sensor is the more common application.

It's true that requiring the use of a Winland EA200 EnviroAlert device makes the Winland TEMP-L-W a very niche product. But if you have one of these devices, then the Winland TEMP-L-W is great. Our technicians have found that it works very reliably in displaying an accurate temperature. Note that it offers a +/- level of 2 degrees Fahrenheit. With its excellent performance, we give the Windland TEMP-L-W a 5-Star Rating.

DSC WS4985 - 1-Way Flood Sensor UA563

Outstanding 433 MHz Flood Sensor
Submitted on 10/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The DSC WS4985 is a wireless 433 MHz flood sensor intended for use with the DSC Impassa and DSC PowerSeries Panels. It also works with other 433 MHz panels like the legacy DSC version of the IQ Panel 2 Plus. This sensor works very reliably, and it packs some nice bonus features as well. For a flood sensor, it is actually very robust, making it a great addition to nearly any compatible security system. For those reasons, we can confidently give the DSC WS4985 Flood Sensor a 5-Star Rating.

The main reason to get a DSC WS4985 is because you have a system that supports 433 MHz sensors and you need to add a flood sensor. The sensor is generally placed in areas where floods or water leaks are likely to occur. These areas can include in basements, in bathrooms, underneath sinks, under toilets, under water heaters, and more. Upon detecting a small amount of liquid, the sensor will send an alert to the panel. The system will then respond based on its programming settings. Our technicians have tested out the DSC WS4985, and we find that its flood detection functions work quite well. The sensor includes a detachable probe for use as a flood sensor.

However, there is more to the DSC WS4985 than just supporting flood detection. The sensor also includes a built-in reed switch. If you add a separate magnet, then the device can be used as a door and window sensor. In that case, you would most likely want to detach the probe. You can even have the sensor act as a wireless transmitter for a Normally Closed hardwired contact by using its built-in terminals. This is great if you have a hardwired contact with a large magnet spacing gap, and you want to use it with a 433 MHz system.

Bottom line, the DSC WS4985 works well, and it offers some nice bonus features that go above and beyond for a regular flood sensor. We give it 5 Stars.

Honeywell IS2500SN - V-Plex PIR Motion Detector

Great Polling Loop Motion!
Submitted on 10/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell IS2500SN is an excellent hardwired PIR motion sensor overall. But it is important to note that it is for V-Plex Polling Loop Panels only. This means that it can only be used with high VISTA-Series Panels, such as the VISTA-128BPT and the VISTA-250BPT. Really, any Honeywell VISTA Panel with a compatible V-Plex Polling Loop can use the sensor. For these panels, the IS2500SN really is an excellent hardwired device. It offers great performance for the compatible security systems.

As a Polling Loop sensor, the IS2500SN uses a 2-wire connection with the panel. These wires are for both data and current. Remember that a Polling Loop on an alarm panel supports both data and current. If you are comfortable working with Polling Loop Security Systems, then you will have no problem setting up the IS2500SN. And that is good news, because the sensor offers some tremendous features for a PIR motion sensor.

The coverage area for the IS2500SN is 50' by 60', which makes the sensor perfect for medium to large rooms, such as lobbies, dining halls, large offices, or even a large living room. It includes dual-slope temperature compensation for improved more accurate detection and false alarm prevention. You can even enable pet immunity for the sensor using its included pet-immune lens. However, using that lens will reduce the coverage area to 35' by 40'. You can choose from pet immunity of up to 40 lbs or up to 80 lbs.

Other great features for the Honeywell IS2500SN include four (4) sensitivity settings, a zero clearance bug guard, mirror look down, a tamper cover, and an automatic walk test mode. Bottom line, this is a great motion sensor to use for anyone with a compatible Polling Loop panel. It is robust, reliable, and supports some nice features. We give it a 5-Star Rating.

Honeywell SiXMINICTPK5 - 5-pack of SiXMINICT encrypted, wireless door/window sensor

Perfect 5-Pack of SiXMINICT Sensors!
Submitted on 10/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell SiXMINICTPK is a five (5) pack of Honeywell SiXMINICT devices. Basically, you get five (5) Honeywell SiXMINICT Wireless Door and Window Sensors at a slightly reduced cost. And since we like the Honeywell SiXMINICT in general, this is an easy 5-Star Rating. The SiXMINICTPK is great for anyone with a Honeywell Lyric Alarm System who needs 5 additional door and window sensors for whatever reason. This bundled deal is perfect for anyone looking to add many door and window sensors to their Lyric System.

There are many things to like about the SiXMINICT. It uses 128-bit AES encryption, which makes the device nearly impossible for others to hack or takeover wirelessly. This also makes it immune to virtually any RF jamming techniques, which could be used to disable other sensors. The SiXMINICT can communicate with the Lyric from up to 200 feet away, which makes it good for use throughout a small to medium sized home. And it packs all of these features into a discreet and compact package. What's not to like?

The SiXMINICT is routinely compared with its bigger brother, the Honeywell SiXCT. That sensor is larger, and it offers a longer wireless range of 300 feet from the panel. The SiXCT also includes a built-in terminal for a Normally Closed (NC) hardwired contact, allowing it to operate as a wireless transmitter. The SiXMINICT lacks this feature. But if you just need a simple, small door and window sensor, then the SiXMINICT is for you. And if you need five of them, then the SiXMINICTPK is perfect. Remember that the sensor works with the Honeywell Lyric System only!

Bottom line, if you like the SiXMINICT, then there's no reason not to the like the Honeywell SiXMINICTPK5. We gave the SiXMINICT in an earlier review, and now we are doing the same for the SiXMINICTPK5.

Qolsys QS1231-840 - IQ Motion-S Encrypted Motion Sensor

Great Residential Motion Sensor!
Submitted on 10/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Qolsys IQ Motion-S, or QS1231-840, is an outstanding motion sensor to use if you have a 319.5 MHz IQ Panel 2 System. It works great with both the standard version of the Qolsys IQ Panel 2 and the 319.5 MHz version of the newer Qolsys IQ Panel 2 Plus. Since this is an S-Line device, it will use rolling code encryption whenever it is paired with a compatible IQ Panel 2 or IQ Panel 2 Plus System. This makes it a simple, yet secure device that is a great choice for basic residential use. That is why we give it 5 Stars.

One great aspect of the Qolsys QS1231-840 S-Line PIR Motion Sensor is that it offers a very good wireless range. In an open air environment, it can technically communicate from up to 600 feet away from the panel. Qolsys recommends using it from 100 feet or less from the panel if possible, but our technicians have found that most environments will allow the sensor to be used from up to 150 or even 200 feet away. Just make sure you test the sensor if you are trying to use the device further than 100 feet from the panel.

For a PIR motion sensor, the Qolsys QS1231-840 does offer a relatively smaller coverage area when compared with similar devices. Its specified range is just 30 feet by 40 feet when mounted at a height of 7.5 feet. However, the device does indeed detect movement reliably from within this coverage area. And most homes won't really need an interior motion sensor with a super large detection area anyway. With that in mind, you really should have no problem using the QS1231-840 in a residential environment. It even offers pet immunity for small animals weighing up to 40 pounds!

Bottom line, we are impressed with the Qolsys IQ Motion-S, and we think it is a strong all-around residential PIR motion sensor. It gets a 5-Star Rating.

Honeywell SiXMINICT - Wireless Door/Window Contact for Lyric Controller

Tremendous Encrypted Compact Door/Window Contact!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell SiXMINICT is one of our most popular and widely used sensors. We are big fans of the Resideo Lyric Alarm System, and our go-to door and window contact for the system is the SiXMINICT. This sensor is great for its small and compact design, 128-bit AES communication, and impressive 200-foot communication range when used in a typical home or business. It has truly earned a 5 Star Rating.

There are so many things to love about the SiXMINICT. The first thing you will probably notice about the sensor is its small and compact design. It is much smaller than its predecessors, measuring in at just 2.44"L x 1.25"W x 0.45"D. Its thin profile allows it to go virtually unnoticed when used on a white door or window. But the small design does not mean that they skimped on performance. The sensor will communicate from up to 200 feet away when used in most homes and businesses. The nominal, "open air" range is actually a little bit further, but considering obstacles is important.

Honeywell made the SiXMINICT because they wanted a smaller and more compact option available than the bulkier SiXCT Contact. To accomplish this, Honeywell removed the hardwired input terminals from the SiXMINICT. Unlike the SiXCT, you cannot use the SiXMINICT as a wireless transmitter for a Normally Closed hardwired contact. But most users will not need this feature anyway. Besides, if you are using the sensor as a transmitter for another sensor, then a compact design probably isn't the biggest selling point.

We also love the 128-bit AES encryption used with the SiXMINICT. This makes the sensor virtually impossible for others to hack or takeover wireless. It is also immune to any RF jamming techniques. Overall, we think the Honeywell SiXMINICT is a fantastic sensor. Our technicians have found that it works exceptionally well, and they frequently recommend it to anyone with a Lyric Security System. In fact, we include the SiXMINICT Sensors in our encrypted Lyric System Kits. This is a great sensor, and we cannot recommend it enough. It deserves 5 Stars.

Interlogix TX-E611 - Flood & Freeze Sensor

Tremendous Flood & Freeze Sensor
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Interlogix TX-E611 is a flood and freeze sensor that operates at 319.5 MHz. This makes it compatible with the 319.5 MHz version of the IQ Panel 2 Plus and the Interlogix Simon Series Panels. Our technicians have found that the Interlogix TX-E611 works very well in all of its advertised areas. We think this is an outstanding sensor, and we rate it at a perfect 5 Stars.

A great aspect of the Interlogix TX-E611 is that it performs its flood detection function and its freeze detection function using one single zone. You do not need to program it to multiple zones to achieve full functionality. This is great if you are trying to conserve zones for use with other sensors. The sensor is also known for being quite small and compact. The round sensor is just 2.5 inches in diameter, and it is 0.37 inches deep. It responds within two (2) seconds of detecting water, and its low temperature sensor activates at 41 degrees Fahrenheit and below.

Needless to say, activating within two (2) seconds is very impressive for a flood sensor. And the sensor is quite versatile with its ability to work with virtually any 319.5 MHz system. It is recommended that the sensor be used within 100 feet of the security system if possible. However, our technicians have found that the sensor can communicate successfully from up to 500 feet away when used in an open air environment. The sensor should be placed in a location where it can quickly detect leaks. Good spots include near sinks, toilets, sump pumps, and hot water tanks.

Overall, we are very impressed with the performance of the Interlogix TX-E611. Its small and compact design lets it fit into tight corridors, and it works as described. This is a great sensor for anyone with a compatible 319.5 MHz system who needs reliable flood and freeze detection. We give it 5 Stars.

Honeywell FG1625R - Round Glass Break Detector

Great Hardwired Glass Break Sensor!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell FG1625R is a round, hardwired glass break sensor that is used for detecting broken windows and protective glass casings. If an intruder or burglar smashes your glass, then this sensor will reliably detect it. This sensor works great for its intended purpose, as it will respond to true glass break events, while ignoring potential false alarms. Our technicians are very impressed with the performance of this sensor. That is why we give it a 5 Star Rating.

As part of the Honeywell "FlexGuard" lineup, the Honeywell FG1625R offers some exceptional performance. It is typically used with hardwired alarm control panels, and it connects using a 4-wire connection. Two of these wires are for powering the device, while the other two are for communicating with the panel. There is even a dip switch on the FG1625R board for you to set the device sensitivity. You can set it to low sensitivity to prevent false alarms, or you can set it to high sensitivity for a maximum security environment.

The Honeywell FG1625R will detect glass break events from up to 25 feet away. Make sure that it is positioned properly so that it can monitor all of the windows or casings that you need it to. You should also test the sensor after installing and programming using a glass break simulator. Remember to put your system on test mode with the central station before doing this. You should find that the Honeywell FG1625R performs exactly as described when it is used correctly. We must also say that the round design looks nice and less intimidating than a boxy glass break detector.

Overall, we are major fans of the Honeywell FG1625R. It works very well, it is easy to use, and it has a pleasant round design. We rate this product at 5 Stars, and we recommend it for anyone with a hardwired system who needs reliable glass break detection.