Reviews

Danalock DLOV3DBRDGEBT - Danabridge V3 Hub for Danalock & Danapad

Perfect for Danalock Users!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Danalock DLOV3DBRDGEBT, or simply the Danabridge, is the V3 hub for the Danalock Smart Lock and for the Danapad Keypad. Our technicians have found that this hub works very well and reliably. It makes for a great addition for anyone with a Z-Wave Danalock Smart Lock who wants more options for controlling the lock remotely. We are very impressed with the performance of this hub, which is why it gets a 5 Star Rating.

You need the Danabridge to connect the Danalock to a WIFI network. This is important for controlling the lock remotely through the Danalock App. While you can already control the lock remotely through Z-Wave technology, this adds another layer to the functionality of the lock. The Danalock App is very easy to use, and it is available for both Android and iOS devices. You just need to make sure that you are using the Z-Wave version of the Danalock V3. The HomeKit Danalock will not work with the Danabridge.

All commands sent by the Danabridge are secured with 256-bit AES encryption for maximum wireless security. The Danalock App will monitor whenever a lock is operated, and it will keep track of which user controlled the lock. Each lock is associated with the Danabridge through a local Bluetooth connection for easy and reliable pairing. With that in mind, you will want to have the Danabridge in a good central location of the locks so that they can communicate easily.

Other good aspects of the Danabridge include its use of a plug-in transformer with no required wiring and its compact design. It can even be mounted to a wall if desired. The Danabridge is also recommended if you have a Danapad Keypad, as the only other way to push codes to a Danapad is through a Z-Wave hub. Overall, we are very pleased with the Danabridge, and we give it a 5 Star Rating.

DSC SCW45TVZ - Impassa Security System w/ Z-Wave Ready, Verizon CDMA Cellular Communicator

Better Systems Available
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The DSC SCW45TVZ refers to the DSC Impassa Security System with Verizon CDMA Communicator. We do not like the DSC Impassa Security System. We think there are much better panels available, and this is one to avoid. Its programming is difficult, and its features are lackluster. As a result, we do not recommend this system, and we give it a 2 Star Rating.

The Impassa is a wireless alarm panel that uses a push-button keypad for operation. This is in contrast to the touchscreen systems that are more common today. Although many users won't mind a touch-button system (it gets the job done), it just doesn't look as modern, and it isn't as satisfying to use. New users may also struggle with the system, as it is not very DIY friendly. If you are already accustomed to DSC programming, then picking up the Impassa should be no problem for you. But the majority of users will struggle with this system.

The design of the Impassa leaves much to be desired. The thing is a brick. It is not sleek or stylish in any sense. The system looks chunky and dated. It also lacks any real impressive features. It only supports 64 zones and 4 key fobs in 16 key zones. While this is fine for most small homes, more modern systems will support many more. And newer systems tend of offer features like partitioning, encrypted sensor support, and local automation control. All of those features are absent from the Impassa.

If that were not enough, this version of the Impassa has a Verizon CDMA Communicator. Verizon no longer allows activations of CDMA communicators, as the network is set to be shut down in the coming years. Anyone buying a new system today should make absolutely sure it comes with an LTE communicator. There really is not a lot to like about the system. For positives, we can say that it is functional, and it does offer the option for local end user programming. For that reason, we give it 2 Stars.

Honeywell CELL-ANTU - Indoor/Outdoor Fixed Length Cellular Antenna w/ 10 ft cable, Lyric Compatible

Fantastic Lyric Cellular Antenna!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell CELL-ANTU is a cellular antenna designed to boost the cellular signal strength for the Honeywell Lyric Alarm System. The antenna can be used with any of the compatible Lyric Cellular Communicators to boost the signal strength, and it is suitable for indoor and outdoor use. We have found that this cellular antenna works very well, which is why we give it a 5 Star Rating.

Making sure your system has a reliable cellular connection is very important. Cellular communication is known for being extremely reliable, but only when signal strength is adequate. If you live in an area that is located far away from cell towers, then you may have trouble achieving a strong enough connection. This is often the case for users in rural areas. But you can achieve a better cellular connection with a cellular antenna or amplifier. If you decide that an antenna is best for your needs, then the Honeywell CELL-ANTU is probably the way to go if you have a Lyric.

The cable attached to the Honeywell CELL-ANTU is only 10 feet long. This is not very long for a cellular antenna, but it will work quite well as long as you place the antenna strategically. You may only need a slight boost in signal, which will allow you just mount it facing a window or something. If you need a stronger boost, then you might consider mounting it in your attic or on your roof. Your alarm monitoring company will be able to test your cellular signals to make sure that your system is receiving an adequate connection.

Our technicians have found that the Honeywell CELL-ANTU works very well when a small to moderate signal boost is needed. If you need a major signal boost, then you might consider going with a more powerful antenna or cellular amplifier. But in most situations, the CELL-ANTU works quite well. And it is even compatible with the new LTE communicators for the Lyric. These include the LYRICLTE-A and the LYRICLTE-V. We believe that this cellular antenna is perfect for most Lyric users who need a stronger cellular connection. We rate it at 5 Stars.

Honeywell 5800FLOOD - Wireless Flood and Temperature Sensor

Great Flood & Temperature Sensor!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell 5800FLOOD is a leak detection and temperature sensor designed for use with 345 MHz security systems. This sensor works reliably in ever possible aspect, and it offers great performance all-around. Our technicians have tested this sensor to great success, and it has become one of our favorites in its category. That is why we give this product a perfect 5 Star Rating.

In order to get full functionality out of the Honeywell 5800FLOOD, you will need to program it to four (4) different zones on the system. Each zone will have a different Loop Number depending on the function you want to use with that zone. But this is worth it, as you really get a lot of functionality out of this one sensor. Although the sensor has "FLOOD" in its name, it isn't just a flood sensor. It also performs excellently as a temperature sensor. In fact, the first two Loops are for temperature sensing. Loop 3 is for flood detection, and Loop 4 is for the tamper cover.

The built-in probes on the Honeywell 5800FLOOD only need to be submerged in 1/4" of water in order to activate. Our technicians have tested the sensor and have found that it activates well within the 40 second to 1 minute timeframe that Honeywell lists in the product specifications. Additionally, the high and low temperature sensing also works quite well. The sensor will respond to low temperatures of 45 degrees Fahrenheit and below, as well as high temperatures of 95 degrees Fahrenheit and up. Remember that Loop 1 is for low-temperature and Loop 2 is for high-temperature.

Overall, we are very impressed with the performance of the Honeywell 5800FLOOD. It is a reliable device, and it packs a lot of functionality into such a small product. We think it is great for anyone with a wireless Honeywell or 2GIG System looking for reliable flood and/or temperature detection. For that reason, we give it 5 Stars.

Honeywell 5800RPS - Wireless Recessed Door Sensor

Great Recessed Plunger Switch Sensor
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell 5800RPS is an outstanding wireless recessed door sensor for 345 MHz security systems. It has a roller plunger switch that won't get caught on the door. This allows it to be used with excellent reliability. And since this is a plunger switch, you only need to drill a hole into the frame. This recessed plunger switch door sensor works very well, which is why we give it a 5 Star Rating.

The way that the Honeywell 5800RPS works is quite simple. You drill an appropriately sized hole into your door frame and then insert the senor into the hole. When the door closes, the rolling plunger switch will be pressed inward. Opening the door will allow the plunger switch to pop up, and the sensor will transmit a signal to the system to let it know that the door is opened. Of course, you must also remember to enroll the sensor with the system! This sensor works great with most Honeywell Systems and 2GIG Systems.

Recessed plunger switch sensors are less common than traditional door contacts that use a sensor and magnet. But sensors like the Honeywell 5800RPS still have an important place in the industry. They are out of view when the door is closed, which leads to a more aesthetically pleasing installation. And they are generally very easy to use. You just have to make sure that the door is close enough to its frame when closed so that the plunger switch is properly pressed down. You will also want to avoid using the Honeywell 5800RPS in windows, as rain could result in a leak.

Overall, our technicians are very pleased with the performance of the Honeywell 5800RPS. We generally recommend it to anyone wanting a recessed plunger sensor with a compatible 345 MHz system. This is truly a great sensor from Honeywell, and we give it 5 Stars.

XT Plastics XTBASE - Desk Mount for Simon XT, XTi & XTi-5

Great Desk Mount for Interlogix Simon Panels!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The XT Plastics XTBASE is a desk mount designed for use with the Interlogix Simon Series of wireless alarm panels. This is a good desk mount to use if you want to avoid having to mount your Interlogix Panel to the wall. We think that it works very well, and it is good for anyone with a compatible panel. That is why we give it a 5 Star Rating.

If you have a wireless alarm system, then you have a choice between mounting it on a wall, using a desk or table stand, or just laying it flat on a table. Mounting it on a wall is the traditional option, and it is probably what most users end up doing. But mounting a panel to the wall can be challenging for a DIY installer, and it will be move difficult to relocate the panel if you ever decide to move. The other extreme is to have the panel laying flat on a table, without using any equipment at all. This looks kind of tacky, and you will have to lean over the system to really see what you are doing.

Desk and table mounts represent a nice, happy medium for alarm system users. They allow the system to be installed without any power tools, and you can have the panel sitting up nicely on your desk or table. Our technicians have found that the XT Plastics XTBASE works very well for compatible Interlogix Simon Panels, including the Simon XT, XTi, XTi-5, and XTi-5i. It is made of very strong and durable plastics, and you will be able to keep it for years. And it sure beats having your panel laying flat on a desk or table.

With the XT Plastics XTBASE, you can have your panel standing upright and proud. It will look great, and you will feel more satisfied when using it. This is an overlooked accessory, but it is actually very useful, and it does its job perfectly. We give it 5 Stars.

Honeywell 7945 - XTP Surface Mount Magnetic Contact with Leads

Excellent Commercial Contact Sensor!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell 7945 is an outstanding commercial-grade contact. It is perfect for use on commercial, industrial, and overhead doors. It is an extremely tough and durable sensor, and its 2.5 inch magnet spacing gap is very impressive. We recommend this contact for anyone need an commercial-grade sensor. That is why we give it a 5 Star Rating.

A unique aspect of the Honeywell 7945 is that it uses leads for connecting a wire instead of terminals. This will work better for users in certain situations, and it definitely gives the Honeywell 7945 an important niche in the market. These leads are specified as 6' CLII cable leads. You connect the two (2) wires from the sensor to the hardwired zone terminals like you would do for pretty much any hardwired contact sensor. Please note that this is a Form A, Normally Closed (NC) sensor.

One of the best aspects of the Honeywell 7945 is its excellent durability. It is a rugged sensor that is prepared to withstand the challenges of being used in commercial applications. The sensor can withstand power surges of up to 2400VDC. This helps prevent the sensor from becoming permanently damaged due to a fused reed switch. This can sometimes happen if the sensor is used in an outdoor environment. But you will not have to worry about that with the Honeywell 7945.

The sensor also possesses an impressive magnet spacing gap rating, as it allows for up to 2.5 inches of spacing between the sensor and magnet when the door is closed. This makes the sensor perfect for use on commercial doors where a larger than average spacing gap is required. Our technicians have found that the Honeywell 7945 works very well in many applications. We give the Honeywell 7945 Contact 5 Stars for its great versatility. We recommend it for anyone needing a contact with a large spacing gap.

Honeywell 466 - 3V Lithium Battery

Excellent CR123A Battery!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell 466 is the perfect CR123A battery. It is a lithium battery that operates at 3V. It provides a long lifespan that will keep most products powered reliably for three (3) to five (5) years. The Honeywell branding is important, as it makes the battery ideal for use in Honeywell, Ademco, and Resideo products. We absolutely love this battery, and that is why we give it a perfect 5 Star Rating.

CR123A batteries like the Honeywell 466 are commonly referred to as camera batteries. This is due to their widespread usage in cameras. However, these batteries are also often used in security and life-safety sensors. In fact, Honeywell has been known for helping to make the CR123A battery one of the most popular battery options for security system sensors. They used the battery in so many different products that they decided it was worthwhile to release their own. And that is why we have the Honeywell CR123A Battery available today.

There are many examples of security products that use CR123A batteries. It is a very common battery for motion sensors, as the Honeywell 5800PIR-RES, 2GIG PIR1e-345, and DSC PG9914 all use CR123A batteries. Even the most popular wireless Honeywell Sensor of all time, the Honeywell 5816 Door and Window Contact, uses CR123A batteries. Remember, you do not have to use the Honeywell 466 with just Honeywell products. Any electronic device that uses CR123A batteries can use the Honeywell 466. This includes non-security devices, such as cameras.

Bottom line, we think the Honeywell 466 is an excellent battery. It provides a long power life, and it works very reliably. We can strongly recommend it for use with any device that uses CR123A camera batteries. Honeywell is known for their high-quality and trustworthy equipment, and that even applies to small products like their batteries. We rate this product at a well-deserved 5 Stars.

Honeywell 7945BR-M - Brown Magnet for XTP 7945 Surface Mount Magnetic Contact with Leads

Perfect Replacement Magnet!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell 7945BR-M is the replacement magnet for the brown version of the Honeywell 7945 Contact Sensor. This magnet exactly matches the one that comes with the brown Honeywell 7945BR. It does exactly what it needs to do as a replacement magnet. That is why we give this product a 5 Star Rating.

The Honeywell 7945 is one of the most popular commercial contact sensors available. It is a surface-mounted contact that is somewhat unique for using wire leads instead of traditional connector terminals. It is a member of Honeywell XTP Series of commercial-grade contacts. These contacts are known for being particularly tough and durable. They can also withstand power surges of up to 2400VDC. This will prevent the contact from breaking due to the internal reed switch becoming fused.

There are three (3) color options available for the Honeywell 7945. The Honeywell 7945BR-M is specifically designed to match the brown contact. You can really use it with any color of the Honeywell 7945, but it will be mismatched unless you use it with the brown one. You will want the magnet on the moving part of the door, while the sensor is placed on the stationary door frame. This is to prevent the sensor from being damaged when the door is opened or closed. The magnet can be replaced more easily than the sensor if needed.

This sensor is also known for its wide magnet spacing gap. You can use it with a gap of up 2.5". This makes it perfect for industrial and overhead doors. This large magnet spacing gap will give you complete confidence in knowing that your sensor is always operating as it should. Overall, the Honeywell 7945BR-M is a great replacement magnet to purchase if your original one ever becomes lost or damaged. With that in mind, we can strongly recommend this product and give it a perfect 5 Star Rating.

Honeywell K4274V1-H M7274 - Plastic Door for 6160 Keypad

Incredible Plastic Door
Submitted on 09/04/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell K4274V1-H M7274 is the small plastic door used with the Honeywell 6160 Keypad and similar keypad variants. Its purpose is to hide the push-button numbers when the keypad is not in use. When you go to use the keypad, you can pull down the door to expose the touch-buttons below. And when you are finished, you can close the door to hide the buttons. It really is that simple. Since the Honeywell K4274V1-H M7274 does its job perfectly, we give it a perfect 5-Star Rating.

Many users mistakenly believe that K4274V1-H M7274 is the name of the keypad itself. This is very common for users who have never seen a Honeywell 6160 Keypad before. They pull down the door, see the code, and assume it's the name of the keypad. And since many people mistake keypads for actual alarm systems, some users falsely believe that the Honeywell K4274V1-H M7274 is the name of their alarm systems. In reality, it is just the part name of the plastic door on their keypads. The Honeywell K4274V1-H M7274 is found on Honeywell 6160 Keypads, as well as on their variants. These include the Honeywell 6160RF, Honeywell 6160V, and more.

A great aspect of the Honeywell K4274V1-H M7274 is that it can be easily removed if desired. Simply pull off the plastic door from the grooves on the keypad, and then pull away. You will now have the small plastic door separated from the keypad. This is good if you want to leave the touchpad on the 6160 Keypad exposed at all times. You can always reattach the small plastic door later on if needed. The 6160 Keypad will look fine whether the door is on or off. It's really up to you with how you want to present it. Do not confuse this 6160 plastic door with the 6150 plastic door. The Honeywell 6150 plastic door is a totally different part number, and it is considerably smaller.

Bottom line, the Honeywell K4272V1-H M7274 is a good plastic door, We give it 5-Stars due to its great performance,