Reviews

DSC PG9922 - PowerG 915MHz Wireless Glass Break Detector

Excellent PowerG Glass Break Sensor
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The DSC PG9922 is a wireless PowerG Glass Break Detector. It works with any PowerG-compatible system, and it reliably detects the sound of breaking windows or protective glass casings. Our technicians have found that it works very reliably, and it is quite easy to set up. For those reasons, we rate the product at a perfect 5 Stars.

Glass break sensors are something you will probably want to have in your home or business. Homeowners use them to monitor windows for forced entry. They can cover multiple windows, so when positioned properly, a single glass break sensor can monitor the windows throughout a room. The DSC PG9922 in particular will detect breaking glass from up to 20 feet away. Just make sure there is a clear line of sight between the sensor and the windows. The sensor is also great for businesses that display products inside of glass casings, such as gun shops and jewelry stores.

With its 360 degree coverage area and highly advanced microphone, the sensor will detect true glass break events, while ignoring potential false alarms. You should make sure to test the sensor with a glass break simulator after installing and programming to make sure that it works properly. The sensor is also quite versatile, being able to work with any PowerG System. This includes any DSC PowerSeries NEO with added receiver, and any version of the Qolsys IQ Panel 2 Plus. As a PowerG Sensor, this device boasts a highly impressive range of up to 2km in open air and 128-bit AES encrypted communication.

Overall, there are many things to like about the DSC PG9922. It is very reliable and trustworthy. It offers an impressive wireless range. Its encrypted communications make it virtually impossible for others to hack or takeover, and it is impervious to any RF jamming techniques. If you have a PowerG-compatible system, and you need a glass break sensor, this is the one to get. We give it a 5 Star Rating.

DSC AFT-100 - Acuity® Glassbreak Simulator/Tester

Great DSC Glass Break Simulator
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The DSC AFT-100 is a glass break simulator that is used for testing glass break sensors. It is specifically built for DSC Glass Break Sensors. This includes any PowerG Glass Break Sensors, as they are manufactured by DSC. You may also be able to use it with non-DSC glass break sensors, but it isn't recommended. Our technicians have found that the DSC AFT-100 works very well as a tester, which is why we give it a 5 Star Rating.

If you are using glass break sensors to monitor windows or protective glass casings, then you will probably want to test them. The best way to do this is with a glass break simulator. You certainly don't want to actually break some glass, as that is dangerous and difficult to clean up. And using a sound clip of breaking glass may not work reliably. Using a glass break simulator is really the only way to reliably test a glass break sensor. Just remember to put your system on test mode with the central station before testing!

It is recommended that you test your glass break sensors from multiple angles and positions when using the DSC AFT-100. After all, an intruder could potentially break a window or smash a casing from a variety of different angles or positions. You want to make sure that your glass break sensors can pick up the sound from no matter which side it occurs. This is extra important if the sensor is being used to monitor multiple glass structures.

Overall, the DSC AFT-100 is a great product. You can keep it around for a very long time to reliably test your glass break sensors. And it will certainly make your regular system testing process considerably. Most users will test their systems multiple times per year, and it's always great to know that your testing is easy to perform and effective. We rate this product 5 Stars, and we recommend it for anyone with DSC Glass Break Sensors.

Honeywell WAVE - Speaker

Better Sounders Available
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell WAVE is a small speaker that is commonly used with hardwired alarm panels as a noisemaker. This is a decent speaker, but there are a few important things to understand. First, it does not include a siren driver. You will need to either have a panel with a built-in siren driver, or you will need to add a separate external siren driver. Second, this is not a very loud speaker. It is a small, 8 ohm speaker, and it only has a power rating of 15 watts. While this device will work fine in some applications, there are usually better options available. We give it a 3 Star Rating out of 5.

Honeywell actually stopped producing the Honeywell WAVE Speaker, as they decided they could make a product with more functionality. The replacement product is called the Honeywell WAVE2 Siren. It offers two unique tones, and it can produce louder sounds of up to 106 dB. It also has the siren driver already built-in, which will make the set up process easier. Both the original Honeywell WAVE and the replacement Honeywell WAVE2 can fit nicely into a single gang box. Both are quite easy to install, and they are good for residential use.

You really only want to get the Honeywell WAVE if you happen to have a hardwired panel that already includes a built-in siren driver. This is somewhat uncommon, as most panels will not have this. Assuming you need a speaker and a siren driver, it is usually easiest to just get a true siren like the Honeywell WAVE2. This will involve less equipment, and it will make the installation process easier. The WAVE is also a small and relatively quiet speaker. If your panel has a built-in siren driver, then you are probably using it in an application that requires something louder.

Overall, there are just too many negatives about the Honeywell WAVE Speaker for us to strongly recommend it. While this product works fine, it is very niche, and there are usually better options available. That is why we rate it at 3 Stars.

Honeywell FG1625RFM - Round Flush Mount Glass Break Detector

Excellent Recessed Glass Break Sensor!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell FG1625RFM is a flush-mount "recessed" glass break sensor that is used to detect broken windows or other protective glass casings. It is fairly unique in being recessed into the fall. Normally one would think of a glass break sensor being surface-mounted. However, the Honeywell FG1625RFM works quite well in detecting glass break events. We think it's a fine sensor, and we give it 5 Stars.

When installing the Honeywell FG1625RFM, you will want to drill a hole that is 1" in diameter. The minimum required depth is 2.75 from the surface. You should have the four wires from the panel that will connect with the panel pulled through the hole and through the wall sleeve for the sensor. You can then slide the wall sleeve into place and connect the wires to the sensor. If you don't mind running and fishing wires, then this is absolutely something you can do at home as part of a weekend project. And you will be happy with the aesthetically pleasing end-result of a recessed sensor.

Our technicians have found that the Honeywell FG1625RFM Glass Break Sensor works very reliably in detecting broken windows or broken glass casings. That said, there are a few things you will want to keep in mind when selecting a location for the device. For one, it should be mounted at least 6 feet away from the floor and 3 feet away from any sirens, bells, or air ducts. Any glass window or casing should be within 25 feet of the glass break sensor, and it should ideally have a clear and direct view. Make sure to test the sensor with a glass break simulator after installing.

When used correctly, the Honeywell FG1625RFM can make a reliable addition to your security system. It is great for anyone who needs a hardwired sensor to monitor for broken windows or casings. And the recessed design is perfect for certain applications. This is a great sensor when the need calls for it, and it deserves a 5 Star Rating.

WBOX 0E-PIEZOSIRN - Panel Mount Sounder 3-28V

Small, Simple Siren
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The WBOX 0E-PIEZOSIRN is a small sounder that you can mount on the metal enclosure for your hardwired alarm panel. It is great for residential use if you just need a small and simple device that will allow your panel to produce some sounds. Our technicians have found that it is easy to use, and it is not a demanding device in any sense. That is why we give it a Five Star Rating.

Most hardwired alarm systems do not come with any sounder or noisemaker. That is why you will typically see users adding hardwired sirens to their hardwired systems. If you need a sounder for large home or for a commercial or industrial location, then the WBOX 0E-PIEZOSIRN is probably not for you. It is too quiet, and it just isn't going to give you the result of a more powerful siren. But if you just need something small and simple, then the WBOX 0E-PIEZOSIRN should be perfectly adequate for your needs.

There are many things to like about the WBOX 0E-PIEZOSIRN. For one, this device has a very low current draw. It's just 20mA @ 28VDC. This is great for users who don't want to exceed the maximum possible current draw for their panel. You probably won't have to add an external power supply or second battery to use this device. And it can be easily connected with your panel at the appropriate trigger output terminals. Another benefit is its wide operating range, which spans from 3VDC to 28VDC. You can even conveniently mount it right on your panel's metal enclosure.

At 90 dB, the WBOX 0E-PIEZOSIRN is surprisingly loud. It won't bother your neighbors, but it will alert everyone in a small home. And for many users, that's all they really need. This is a simple, straightforward device that we can definitely recommend in the right situation. For that reason, we give it a Five Star Rating.

Honeywell 960 - XTP Surface Mount Magnetic Contact

Great Commercial Contact Sensor!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell 960 is a commercial-grade contact sensor from the Honeywell XTP lineup. This is a very rugged and tough door contact that is great for use in commercial and industrial locations. We also recommend it for use with overhead doors. Its durable aluminum housing is some of the toughest in the industry, and its 3' armored cable cannot be easily cut. Our technicians are very impressed with the performance of this sensor, which is why we give it a 5 Star Rating.

Contact sensors are some of the most commonly used devices for security systems. They let the system know when a door has been opened. Their operation is very simple. There is a sensor and a magnet. Opening the door will cause the magnet to become separated from the sensor. The sensor will recognize this, and it will know to alert the security system to the open door. The Honeywell 960 is no different in this regard. But it offers some outstanding features that make it suitable for more-demanding applications.

For one, you can use this sensor with a much larger than average magnet spacing gap. A standard residential contact will usually require the sensor to be within a half-inch of the magnet when the door is closed. But the Honeywell 960 will allow for a magnet spacing gap of up to 2.5 inches. And its 3' armored cable is virtually impossible to cut without some heavy tools. This helps keep the sensor secure and protected. You can even use this sensor outside on gates or fences if needed. It is also commonly used on industrial overhead doors.

Other specifications for the sensor include its Form A, SPST reed switch, which equates to Normally Closed (NC) wiring and the sensors ability to withstand power surges up to 2400VDC. All of this makes the Honeywell 960 a very dependable sensor. We recommend it to anyone in need of a hardwired commercial-grade contact, and we give it 5 Stars.

Danalock DLOV3DBRDGEBT - Danabridge V3 Hub for Danalock & Danapad

Perfect for Danalock Users!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Danalock DLOV3DBRDGEBT, or simply the Danabridge, is the V3 hub for the Danalock Smart Lock and for the Danapad Keypad. Our technicians have found that this hub works very well and reliably. It makes for a great addition for anyone with a Z-Wave Danalock Smart Lock who wants more options for controlling the lock remotely. We are very impressed with the performance of this hub, which is why it gets a 5 Star Rating.

You need the Danabridge to connect the Danalock to a WIFI network. This is important for controlling the lock remotely through the Danalock App. While you can already control the lock remotely through Z-Wave technology, this adds another layer to the functionality of the lock. The Danalock App is very easy to use, and it is available for both Android and iOS devices. You just need to make sure that you are using the Z-Wave version of the Danalock V3. The HomeKit Danalock will not work with the Danabridge.

All commands sent by the Danabridge are secured with 256-bit AES encryption for maximum wireless security. The Danalock App will monitor whenever a lock is operated, and it will keep track of which user controlled the lock. Each lock is associated with the Danabridge through a local Bluetooth connection for easy and reliable pairing. With that in mind, you will want to have the Danabridge in a good central location of the locks so that they can communicate easily.

Other good aspects of the Danabridge include its use of a plug-in transformer with no required wiring and its compact design. It can even be mounted to a wall if desired. The Danabridge is also recommended if you have a Danapad Keypad, as the only other way to push codes to a Danapad is through a Z-Wave hub. Overall, we are very pleased with the Danabridge, and we give it a 5 Star Rating.

DSC SCW45TVZ - Impassa Security System w/ Z-Wave Ready, Verizon CDMA Cellular Communicator

Better Systems Available
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The DSC SCW45TVZ refers to the DSC Impassa Security System with Verizon CDMA Communicator. We do not like the DSC Impassa Security System. We think there are much better panels available, and this is one to avoid. Its programming is difficult, and its features are lackluster. As a result, we do not recommend this system, and we give it a 2 Star Rating.

The Impassa is a wireless alarm panel that uses a push-button keypad for operation. This is in contrast to the touchscreen systems that are more common today. Although many users won't mind a touch-button system (it gets the job done), it just doesn't look as modern, and it isn't as satisfying to use. New users may also struggle with the system, as it is not very DIY friendly. If you are already accustomed to DSC programming, then picking up the Impassa should be no problem for you. But the majority of users will struggle with this system.

The design of the Impassa leaves much to be desired. The thing is a brick. It is not sleek or stylish in any sense. The system looks chunky and dated. It also lacks any real impressive features. It only supports 64 zones and 4 key fobs in 16 key zones. While this is fine for most small homes, more modern systems will support many more. And newer systems tend of offer features like partitioning, encrypted sensor support, and local automation control. All of those features are absent from the Impassa.

If that were not enough, this version of the Impassa has a Verizon CDMA Communicator. Verizon no longer allows activations of CDMA communicators, as the network is set to be shut down in the coming years. Anyone buying a new system today should make absolutely sure it comes with an LTE communicator. There really is not a lot to like about the system. For positives, we can say that it is functional, and it does offer the option for local end user programming. For that reason, we give it 2 Stars.

Honeywell CELL-ANTU - Indoor/Outdoor Fixed Length Cellular Antenna w/ 10 ft cable, Lyric Compatible

Fantastic Lyric Cellular Antenna!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell CELL-ANTU is a cellular antenna designed to boost the cellular signal strength for the Honeywell Lyric Alarm System. The antenna can be used with any of the compatible Lyric Cellular Communicators to boost the signal strength, and it is suitable for indoor and outdoor use. We have found that this cellular antenna works very well, which is why we give it a 5 Star Rating.

Making sure your system has a reliable cellular connection is very important. Cellular communication is known for being extremely reliable, but only when signal strength is adequate. If you live in an area that is located far away from cell towers, then you may have trouble achieving a strong enough connection. This is often the case for users in rural areas. But you can achieve a better cellular connection with a cellular antenna or amplifier. If you decide that an antenna is best for your needs, then the Honeywell CELL-ANTU is probably the way to go if you have a Lyric.

The cable attached to the Honeywell CELL-ANTU is only 10 feet long. This is not very long for a cellular antenna, but it will work quite well as long as you place the antenna strategically. You may only need a slight boost in signal, which will allow you just mount it facing a window or something. If you need a stronger boost, then you might consider mounting it in your attic or on your roof. Your alarm monitoring company will be able to test your cellular signals to make sure that your system is receiving an adequate connection.

Our technicians have found that the Honeywell CELL-ANTU works very well when a small to moderate signal boost is needed. If you need a major signal boost, then you might consider going with a more powerful antenna or cellular amplifier. But in most situations, the CELL-ANTU works quite well. And it is even compatible with the new LTE communicators for the Lyric. These include the LYRICLTE-A and the LYRICLTE-V. We believe that this cellular antenna is perfect for most Lyric users who need a stronger cellular connection. We rate it at 5 Stars.

Honeywell 5800FLOOD - Wireless Flood and Temperature Sensor

Great Flood & Temperature Sensor!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell 5800FLOOD is a leak detection and temperature sensor designed for use with 345 MHz security systems. This sensor works reliably in ever possible aspect, and it offers great performance all-around. Our technicians have tested this sensor to great success, and it has become one of our favorites in its category. That is why we give this product a perfect 5 Star Rating.

In order to get full functionality out of the Honeywell 5800FLOOD, you will need to program it to four (4) different zones on the system. Each zone will have a different Loop Number depending on the function you want to use with that zone. But this is worth it, as you really get a lot of functionality out of this one sensor. Although the sensor has "FLOOD" in its name, it isn't just a flood sensor. It also performs excellently as a temperature sensor. In fact, the first two Loops are for temperature sensing. Loop 3 is for flood detection, and Loop 4 is for the tamper cover.

The built-in probes on the Honeywell 5800FLOOD only need to be submerged in 1/4" of water in order to activate. Our technicians have tested the sensor and have found that it activates well within the 40 second to 1 minute timeframe that Honeywell lists in the product specifications. Additionally, the high and low temperature sensing also works quite well. The sensor will respond to low temperatures of 45 degrees Fahrenheit and below, as well as high temperatures of 95 degrees Fahrenheit and up. Remember that Loop 1 is for low-temperature and Loop 2 is for high-temperature.

Overall, we are very impressed with the performance of the Honeywell 5800FLOOD. It is a reliable device, and it packs a lot of functionality into such a small product. We think it is great for anyone with a wireless Honeywell or 2GIG System looking for reliable flood and/or temperature detection. For that reason, we give it 5 Stars.