Reviews

Qolsys QS1231-840 - IQ Motion-S Encrypted Motion Sensor

Great Residential Motion Sensor!
Submitted on 10/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Qolsys IQ Motion-S, or QS1231-840, is an outstanding motion sensor to use if you have a 319.5 MHz IQ Panel 2 System. It works great with both the standard version of the Qolsys IQ Panel 2 and the 319.5 MHz version of the newer Qolsys IQ Panel 2 Plus. Since this is an S-Line device, it will use rolling code encryption whenever it is paired with a compatible IQ Panel 2 or IQ Panel 2 Plus System. This makes it a simple, yet secure device that is a great choice for basic residential use. That is why we give it 5 Stars.

One great aspect of the Qolsys QS1231-840 S-Line PIR Motion Sensor is that it offers a very good wireless range. In an open air environment, it can technically communicate from up to 600 feet away from the panel. Qolsys recommends using it from 100 feet or less from the panel if possible, but our technicians have found that most environments will allow the sensor to be used from up to 150 or even 200 feet away. Just make sure you test the sensor if you are trying to use the device further than 100 feet from the panel.

For a PIR motion sensor, the Qolsys QS1231-840 does offer a relatively smaller coverage area when compared with similar devices. Its specified range is just 30 feet by 40 feet when mounted at a height of 7.5 feet. However, the device does indeed detect movement reliably from within this coverage area. And most homes won't really need an interior motion sensor with a super large detection area anyway. With that in mind, you really should have no problem using the QS1231-840 in a residential environment. It even offers pet immunity for small animals weighing up to 40 pounds!

Bottom line, we are impressed with the Qolsys IQ Motion-S, and we think it is a strong all-around residential PIR motion sensor. It gets a 5-Star Rating.

Honeywell SiXMINICT - Wireless Door/Window Contact for Lyric Controller

Tremendous Encrypted Compact Door/Window Contact!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell SiXMINICT is one of our most popular and widely used sensors. We are big fans of the Resideo Lyric Alarm System, and our go-to door and window contact for the system is the SiXMINICT. This sensor is great for its small and compact design, 128-bit AES communication, and impressive 200-foot communication range when used in a typical home or business. It has truly earned a 5 Star Rating.

There are so many things to love about the SiXMINICT. The first thing you will probably notice about the sensor is its small and compact design. It is much smaller than its predecessors, measuring in at just 2.44"L x 1.25"W x 0.45"D. Its thin profile allows it to go virtually unnoticed when used on a white door or window. But the small design does not mean that they skimped on performance. The sensor will communicate from up to 200 feet away when used in most homes and businesses. The nominal, "open air" range is actually a little bit further, but considering obstacles is important.

Honeywell made the SiXMINICT because they wanted a smaller and more compact option available than the bulkier SiXCT Contact. To accomplish this, Honeywell removed the hardwired input terminals from the SiXMINICT. Unlike the SiXCT, you cannot use the SiXMINICT as a wireless transmitter for a Normally Closed hardwired contact. But most users will not need this feature anyway. Besides, if you are using the sensor as a transmitter for another sensor, then a compact design probably isn't the biggest selling point.

We also love the 128-bit AES encryption used with the SiXMINICT. This makes the sensor virtually impossible for others to hack or takeover wireless. It is also immune to any RF jamming techniques. Overall, we think the Honeywell SiXMINICT is a fantastic sensor. Our technicians have found that it works exceptionally well, and they frequently recommend it to anyone with a Lyric Security System. In fact, we include the SiXMINICT Sensors in our encrypted Lyric System Kits. This is a great sensor, and we cannot recommend it enough. It deserves 5 Stars.

Interlogix TX-E611 - Flood & Freeze Sensor

Tremendous Flood & Freeze Sensor
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Interlogix TX-E611 is a flood and freeze sensor that operates at 319.5 MHz. This makes it compatible with the 319.5 MHz version of the IQ Panel 2 Plus and the Interlogix Simon Series Panels. Our technicians have found that the Interlogix TX-E611 works very well in all of its advertised areas. We think this is an outstanding sensor, and we rate it at a perfect 5 Stars.

A great aspect of the Interlogix TX-E611 is that it performs its flood detection function and its freeze detection function using one single zone. You do not need to program it to multiple zones to achieve full functionality. This is great if you are trying to conserve zones for use with other sensors. The sensor is also known for being quite small and compact. The round sensor is just 2.5 inches in diameter, and it is 0.37 inches deep. It responds within two (2) seconds of detecting water, and its low temperature sensor activates at 41 degrees Fahrenheit and below.

Needless to say, activating within two (2) seconds is very impressive for a flood sensor. And the sensor is quite versatile with its ability to work with virtually any 319.5 MHz system. It is recommended that the sensor be used within 100 feet of the security system if possible. However, our technicians have found that the sensor can communicate successfully from up to 500 feet away when used in an open air environment. The sensor should be placed in a location where it can quickly detect leaks. Good spots include near sinks, toilets, sump pumps, and hot water tanks.

Overall, we are very impressed with the performance of the Interlogix TX-E611. Its small and compact design lets it fit into tight corridors, and it works as described. This is a great sensor for anyone with a compatible 319.5 MHz system who needs reliable flood and freeze detection. We give it 5 Stars.

Honeywell FG1625R - Round Glass Break Detector

Great Hardwired Glass Break Sensor!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell FG1625R is a round, hardwired glass break sensor that is used for detecting broken windows and protective glass casings. If an intruder or burglar smashes your glass, then this sensor will reliably detect it. This sensor works great for its intended purpose, as it will respond to true glass break events, while ignoring potential false alarms. Our technicians are very impressed with the performance of this sensor. That is why we give it a 5 Star Rating.

As part of the Honeywell "FlexGuard" lineup, the Honeywell FG1625R offers some exceptional performance. It is typically used with hardwired alarm control panels, and it connects using a 4-wire connection. Two of these wires are for powering the device, while the other two are for communicating with the panel. There is even a dip switch on the FG1625R board for you to set the device sensitivity. You can set it to low sensitivity to prevent false alarms, or you can set it to high sensitivity for a maximum security environment.

The Honeywell FG1625R will detect glass break events from up to 25 feet away. Make sure that it is positioned properly so that it can monitor all of the windows or casings that you need it to. You should also test the sensor after installing and programming using a glass break simulator. Remember to put your system on test mode with the central station before doing this. You should find that the Honeywell FG1625R performs exactly as described when it is used correctly. We must also say that the round design looks nice and less intimidating than a boxy glass break detector.

Overall, we are major fans of the Honeywell FG1625R. It works very well, it is easy to use, and it has a pleasant round design. We rate this product at 5 Stars, and we recommend it for anyone with a hardwired system who needs reliable glass break detection.

DSC PG9922 - PowerG 915MHz Wireless Glass Break Detector

Excellent PowerG Glass Break Sensor
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The DSC PG9922 is a wireless PowerG Glass Break Detector. It works with any PowerG-compatible system, and it reliably detects the sound of breaking windows or protective glass casings. Our technicians have found that it works very reliably, and it is quite easy to set up. For those reasons, we rate the product at a perfect 5 Stars.

Glass break sensors are something you will probably want to have in your home or business. Homeowners use them to monitor windows for forced entry. They can cover multiple windows, so when positioned properly, a single glass break sensor can monitor the windows throughout a room. The DSC PG9922 in particular will detect breaking glass from up to 20 feet away. Just make sure there is a clear line of sight between the sensor and the windows. The sensor is also great for businesses that display products inside of glass casings, such as gun shops and jewelry stores.

With its 360 degree coverage area and highly advanced microphone, the sensor will detect true glass break events, while ignoring potential false alarms. You should make sure to test the sensor with a glass break simulator after installing and programming to make sure that it works properly. The sensor is also quite versatile, being able to work with any PowerG System. This includes any DSC PowerSeries NEO with added receiver, and any version of the Qolsys IQ Panel 2 Plus. As a PowerG Sensor, this device boasts a highly impressive range of up to 2km in open air and 128-bit AES encrypted communication.

Overall, there are many things to like about the DSC PG9922. It is very reliable and trustworthy. It offers an impressive wireless range. Its encrypted communications make it virtually impossible for others to hack or takeover, and it is impervious to any RF jamming techniques. If you have a PowerG-compatible system, and you need a glass break sensor, this is the one to get. We give it a 5 Star Rating.

DSC AFT-100 - Acuity® Glassbreak Simulator/Tester

Great DSC Glass Break Simulator
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The DSC AFT-100 is a glass break simulator that is used for testing glass break sensors. It is specifically built for DSC Glass Break Sensors. This includes any PowerG Glass Break Sensors, as they are manufactured by DSC. You may also be able to use it with non-DSC glass break sensors, but it isn't recommended. Our technicians have found that the DSC AFT-100 works very well as a tester, which is why we give it a 5 Star Rating.

If you are using glass break sensors to monitor windows or protective glass casings, then you will probably want to test them. The best way to do this is with a glass break simulator. You certainly don't want to actually break some glass, as that is dangerous and difficult to clean up. And using a sound clip of breaking glass may not work reliably. Using a glass break simulator is really the only way to reliably test a glass break sensor. Just remember to put your system on test mode with the central station before testing!

It is recommended that you test your glass break sensors from multiple angles and positions when using the DSC AFT-100. After all, an intruder could potentially break a window or smash a casing from a variety of different angles or positions. You want to make sure that your glass break sensors can pick up the sound from no matter which side it occurs. This is extra important if the sensor is being used to monitor multiple glass structures.

Overall, the DSC AFT-100 is a great product. You can keep it around for a very long time to reliably test your glass break sensors. And it will certainly make your regular system testing process considerably. Most users will test their systems multiple times per year, and it's always great to know that your testing is easy to perform and effective. We rate this product 5 Stars, and we recommend it for anyone with DSC Glass Break Sensors.

Honeywell WAVE - Speaker

Better Sounders Available
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell WAVE is a small speaker that is commonly used with hardwired alarm panels as a noisemaker. This is a decent speaker, but there are a few important things to understand. First, it does not include a siren driver. You will need to either have a panel with a built-in siren driver, or you will need to add a separate external siren driver. Second, this is not a very loud speaker. It is a small, 8 ohm speaker, and it only has a power rating of 15 watts. While this device will work fine in some applications, there are usually better options available. We give it a 3 Star Rating out of 5.

Honeywell actually stopped producing the Honeywell WAVE Speaker, as they decided they could make a product with more functionality. The replacement product is called the Honeywell WAVE2 Siren. It offers two unique tones, and it can produce louder sounds of up to 106 dB. It also has the siren driver already built-in, which will make the set up process easier. Both the original Honeywell WAVE and the replacement Honeywell WAVE2 can fit nicely into a single gang box. Both are quite easy to install, and they are good for residential use.

You really only want to get the Honeywell WAVE if you happen to have a hardwired panel that already includes a built-in siren driver. This is somewhat uncommon, as most panels will not have this. Assuming you need a speaker and a siren driver, it is usually easiest to just get a true siren like the Honeywell WAVE2. This will involve less equipment, and it will make the installation process easier. The WAVE is also a small and relatively quiet speaker. If your panel has a built-in siren driver, then you are probably using it in an application that requires something louder.

Overall, there are just too many negatives about the Honeywell WAVE Speaker for us to strongly recommend it. While this product works fine, it is very niche, and there are usually better options available. That is why we rate it at 3 Stars.

Honeywell FG1625RFM - Round Flush Mount Glass Break Detector

Excellent Recessed Glass Break Sensor!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell FG1625RFM is a flush-mount "recessed" glass break sensor that is used to detect broken windows or other protective glass casings. It is fairly unique in being recessed into the fall. Normally one would think of a glass break sensor being surface-mounted. However, the Honeywell FG1625RFM works quite well in detecting glass break events. We think it's a fine sensor, and we give it 5 Stars.

When installing the Honeywell FG1625RFM, you will want to drill a hole that is 1" in diameter. The minimum required depth is 2.75 from the surface. You should have the four wires from the panel that will connect with the panel pulled through the hole and through the wall sleeve for the sensor. You can then slide the wall sleeve into place and connect the wires to the sensor. If you don't mind running and fishing wires, then this is absolutely something you can do at home as part of a weekend project. And you will be happy with the aesthetically pleasing end-result of a recessed sensor.

Our technicians have found that the Honeywell FG1625RFM Glass Break Sensor works very reliably in detecting broken windows or broken glass casings. That said, there are a few things you will want to keep in mind when selecting a location for the device. For one, it should be mounted at least 6 feet away from the floor and 3 feet away from any sirens, bells, or air ducts. Any glass window or casing should be within 25 feet of the glass break sensor, and it should ideally have a clear and direct view. Make sure to test the sensor with a glass break simulator after installing.

When used correctly, the Honeywell FG1625RFM can make a reliable addition to your security system. It is great for anyone who needs a hardwired sensor to monitor for broken windows or casings. And the recessed design is perfect for certain applications. This is a great sensor when the need calls for it, and it deserves a 5 Star Rating.

WBOX 0E-PIEZOSIRN - Panel Mount Sounder 3-28V

Small, Simple Siren
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The WBOX 0E-PIEZOSIRN is a small sounder that you can mount on the metal enclosure for your hardwired alarm panel. It is great for residential use if you just need a small and simple device that will allow your panel to produce some sounds. Our technicians have found that it is easy to use, and it is not a demanding device in any sense. That is why we give it a Five Star Rating.

Most hardwired alarm systems do not come with any sounder or noisemaker. That is why you will typically see users adding hardwired sirens to their hardwired systems. If you need a sounder for large home or for a commercial or industrial location, then the WBOX 0E-PIEZOSIRN is probably not for you. It is too quiet, and it just isn't going to give you the result of a more powerful siren. But if you just need something small and simple, then the WBOX 0E-PIEZOSIRN should be perfectly adequate for your needs.

There are many things to like about the WBOX 0E-PIEZOSIRN. For one, this device has a very low current draw. It's just 20mA @ 28VDC. This is great for users who don't want to exceed the maximum possible current draw for their panel. You probably won't have to add an external power supply or second battery to use this device. And it can be easily connected with your panel at the appropriate trigger output terminals. Another benefit is its wide operating range, which spans from 3VDC to 28VDC. You can even conveniently mount it right on your panel's metal enclosure.

At 90 dB, the WBOX 0E-PIEZOSIRN is surprisingly loud. It won't bother your neighbors, but it will alert everyone in a small home. And for many users, that's all they really need. This is a simple, straightforward device that we can definitely recommend in the right situation. For that reason, we give it a Five Star Rating.

Honeywell 960 - XTP Surface Mount Magnetic Contact

Great Commercial Contact Sensor!
Submitted on 09/17/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell 960 is a commercial-grade contact sensor from the Honeywell XTP lineup. This is a very rugged and tough door contact that is great for use in commercial and industrial locations. We also recommend it for use with overhead doors. Its durable aluminum housing is some of the toughest in the industry, and its 3' armored cable cannot be easily cut. Our technicians are very impressed with the performance of this sensor, which is why we give it a 5 Star Rating.

Contact sensors are some of the most commonly used devices for security systems. They let the system know when a door has been opened. Their operation is very simple. There is a sensor and a magnet. Opening the door will cause the magnet to become separated from the sensor. The sensor will recognize this, and it will know to alert the security system to the open door. The Honeywell 960 is no different in this regard. But it offers some outstanding features that make it suitable for more-demanding applications.

For one, you can use this sensor with a much larger than average magnet spacing gap. A standard residential contact will usually require the sensor to be within a half-inch of the magnet when the door is closed. But the Honeywell 960 will allow for a magnet spacing gap of up to 2.5 inches. And its 3' armored cable is virtually impossible to cut without some heavy tools. This helps keep the sensor secure and protected. You can even use this sensor outside on gates or fences if needed. It is also commonly used on industrial overhead doors.

Other specifications for the sensor include its Form A, SPST reed switch, which equates to Normally Closed (NC) wiring and the sensors ability to withstand power surges up to 2400VDC. All of this makes the Honeywell 960 a very dependable sensor. We recommend it to anyone in need of a hardwired commercial-grade contact, and we give it 5 Stars.