Reviews

DSC AC-102 - Acuity® Glassbreak Detector w/ Tamper, Form C

Outstanding Glass Break Sensor
Submitted on 12/05/2019 Alarm Grid

The DSC AC-102 is a Form C hardwired glass break sensor. The device is used to monitor for broken glass. This usually includes windows and protective glass casings. However, you will need to make sure that the type of glass you are using is compatible with the DSC AC-102. We find that the DSC AC-102 works quite well, and we have no trouble recommending it as a wired glass break detector. We give it a 5 Star rating.

There are many things we like about the DSC AC-102. For one, it has an advanced microprocessor that helps it properly distinguish between true glass break events and potential false alarms. This is very important for users who may have had trouble with glass break sensors causing false alarms in the past. We also appreciate the omnidirectional microphone on the sensor that allows the device to listen for broken glass from any direction. The sensor can detect broken glass sounds from up to 25 feet away, which is a pretty nice distance for a glass break sensor. We also like that this device has a built-in tamper switch to let you know if someone is trying to open up or disable the sensor. Finally, the fact that this sensor is Form C is good, as you can choose between Normally Open (NO) and Normally Closed (NC) wiring.

We don't have many downsides to mention about the DSC AC-102. The device has an admittedly "dated" design, that some might even call ugly compared with more attractive glass break sensors. If that is important for you, then it may be a deal-breaker. This device also needs a direct line of sight to the glass, so make sure you position it accordingly. Overall, we really like the DSC AC-102, and we give it 5 Stars.

Good: Advanced Microprocessor, Omnidirectional Microphone, 25 Foot Detection Range, Tamper Switch, Form C

Bad: Unattractive Design, Needs Direct Line of Sight

Bottom Line: 5 Stars

Honeywell lyricpk vz new dual path security system w slash veriz

Honeywell Lyric Verizon-CDMA 3-1 Kit - Alarm System, 3 Door/Window Sensors, 1 Motion, 8' Cable

Get a Lyric LTE Kit Instead!
Submitted on 12/05/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell Lyric Verizon-CDMA 3-1 Kit is an old security system kit sold by Alarm Grid. The kit included a Honeywell Lyric Alarm System, three (3) VERSA-2GIG Contacts, a Honeywell SiXPIR Motion Sensor, a Verizon CDMA Communicator, and a Honeywell LT-Cable. Other than the Verizon CDMA Communicator, everything included in this kit is still top of the line and can be used very effectively. And if you already have the communicator activated, then it can continue to be used until Verizon eventually shuts down their CDMA Network. But since we really like the Lyric System and the included sensors, we can still give this 5 Stars.

The Lyric is a great system, and it offers pretty much everything you would expect out of a modern system. It has 128 wireless zones, built-in Z-Wave, integrated WIFI, and a beautiful touchscreen. The sensors included with this kit are simple, yet effective. They are all easy to enroll, and you can program them according to your unique needs. As an added bonus, the SiXPIR Motion Sensor utilizes 128-bit AES encryption for added wireless security. And the Honeywell LT-Cable is a nice addition, as it makes installing the system even easier. We also want to mention that even though the Verizon CDMA Communicator can no longer be activated, the Lyric System can still be used for IP-only with no added equipment.

The main downsides from this kit concern the fact that it has a very outdated communicator. The Verizon CDMA Communicator can no longer be activated for monitoring service. Making matters worse is that if you have one that is already activated, then it will stop working once Verizon shuts down their CDMA Network. You will want to upgrade to LTE as soon as you can. Fortunately, LTE modules are readily available. Overall, we are big fans of the Lyric System. If it weren't for the CDMA Communicator, we would strongly recommend this kit. But luckily, we have some Lyric Kits with LTE modules available for purchase instead. Still, this doesn't stop us from giving the Honeywell Lyric Verizon-CDMA 3-1 Kit a 5 Star rating.

Good: Excellent System, Nice Sensors, LT-Cable, Can Still Do IP Monitoring

Bad: CDMA Communicator Cannot Be Activated, Need to Upgrade to LTE

Bottom Line: 5 Stars

Honeywell ipcam wips ipcam wi2 power supply 5vdc 1a

Honeywell IPCAM-WIPS - IPCAM-WI2 Power Supply 5VDC, 1A

Wonderful Power Supply!
Submitted on 12/05/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell IPCAM-WIPS is the power supply for the Honeywell IPCAM-WI2. The Honeywell IPCAM-WI2 is a legacy IP camera that is no longer manufactured or sold in new condition. The same applies to the IPCAM-WIPS Power Supply. It's not that the Honeywell IPCAM-WI2 was a bad camera or anything. It just isn't as advanced as the newer Honeywell IP Cameras on the market. Likewise, the IPCAM-WIPS is a great power supply! If you ever needed a replacement power supply for a Honeywell IPCAM-WI2, then the Honeywell IPCAM-WIPS is the product to get. You may be able to find one somewhere on the used market if needed. For its ease of use and effectiveness, we give the Honeywell IPCAM-WIPS a 5 Star Rating.

There are many things we like about the Honeywell IPCAM-WIPS. For one, it has an easy connector cord. You just plug it right into the back of the Honeywell IPCAM-WI2 Camera. This is very easy to do, and even novice users will have no trouble. Many users appreciate that the cable is fixed to the transformer, You will not need to connect your own cable when using this power supply.

But there are some downsides to the Honeywell IPCAM-WIPS. The fact that the cable is hardwired to the transformer is a double-edged sword. This also means that you cannot easily replace the cable if it becomes damged. If that happens, you will need to buy a completely new Honeywell IPCAM-WIPS Power Supply. That is a major inconvenience. It also means that you will have trouble extending the cable if needed. Instead, you will need to use an extension cord. We must also mention the obvious fact that the power supply is discontinued and no longer available for new purchase. But these downsides aside, the Honeywell IPCAM-WIPS is still a great product. We give it 5 Stars.

Good: Easy Connection, No Need to Connect Cable

Bad: Cannot Replace Cable if Damaged, Cannot Easily Extend Cable, Discontinued

Bottom Line: 5 Stars

2gig gccdmv a

2GIG GCCDMV-A - Alarm.com Verizon Go!Control Cell Comm

Upgrade to LTE ASAP!
Submitted on 12/05/2019 Alarm Grid

The 2GIG GCCDMV-A is a Verizon CDMA Communicator for the 2GIG Go!Control GC2 Security System. This is a discontinued communicator that can no longer be activated for monitoring service. If you have one that is currently operational, then it will continue to work until Verizon shuts down their CDMA network. Once this happens this communicator can no longer be used in any manner. If you are currently using this communicator, then it is important that you upgrade to an LTE module as soon as you can. The go-to Verizon LTE module is the 2GIG LTEV1-A-GC2. As far as rating, the 2GIG GCCDMV-A, we give it 4 Stars, as it still works fine for the time being if it is already activated. But you really should switch to an LTE unit sooner rather than later.

If you have a 2GIG GCCCDMV-A Communicator that is already installed and activated then there is still quite a bit to like about it. You can use the module for reliable monitoring service across the Verizon CDMA Cellular Network. Cellular monitoring is known for its excellent reliability, and the 2GIG GCCDMV-A is no exception, provided that you have adequate cellular signals in your area. If you have this communicator activated with a compatible monitoring plan, then you can use Alarm.com with your GC2 System. This is a convenient platform for arming and disarming, checking current status, controlling Z-Wave devices, and more.

The downsides to the 2GIG GCCDMV-A are fairly obvious. The communicator is discontinued, and it can no longer be activated. If you are still using this communicator, then you are on a time-crunch. It will continue to work until Verizon shuts down their CDMA Network. As a result, upgrading sooner rather than later is advised. All things considered, we give this communicator a 4 Star rating. If you are currently using one, please understand that it only has a very limited product life remaining.

Good: Reliable Monitoing, Alarm.com Access

Bad: Can No Longer Be Activated, CDMA Network Being Shut Down

Bottom Line: 4 Stars

Leviton vrcz1 1lz 1 button zone dimming z wave controller

Leviton VRCZ1-1LZ - 1-Button Zone Dimming Z-Wave Controller

Great Z-Wave Dimmer!
Submitted on 12/04/2019 Alarm Grid

The Leviton VRCZ1-1LZ is a single button Z-Wave dimming module. The device can be used to control a Z-Wave scene, or it can be used to dim the lights and turn them on and off. However, the main appeal to the Leviton VRCZ1-1LZ over many other Z-Wave light switches is that it is possible to pair it with a dimmer in a 3-way or multi-pole setup without the use of a traveler wire. This is a key feature, as you would traditionally need to wire in a traveler wire for this type of setup. Some DIY users may find that to be difficult depending on the positioning of the switches. For that reason, we give the Leviton VRCZ1-1LZ a 5 Star rating.

Seriously, the single best aspect of the Leviton VRCZ1-1LZ is the fact that it can be used with other dimming modules in a 3-way or multi-pole configuration without using a traveler wire. That is very cool, and super convenient. Other than that, we like that this module is easy to pair. It is also easy to install. All you need to do is cut power at the breaker, remove your existing dimmer, and wire the Leviton LRCZ1-1LZ in its place. This is simple even for a DIY user!

However, there are some downsides to the Leviton VRCZ1-1LZ. It only uses standard Z-Wave. If you have a newer Z-Wave Plus controller, then you may want to find a Z-Wave Plus dimmer so that you can take advantage of the robust range that Z-Wave Plus offers. Also, the product is discontinued, and you can no longer buy it new. But despite these minor drawbacks, this is still an outstanding product. We give the Leviton VRCZ1-1LZ 5 Stars.

Good: 3-Way & Multi-Pole Wiring w/o Traveler Wire, Easy to Install & Pair

Bad: Standard Z-Wave, Discontinued

Bottom Line: 5 Stars

Honeywell 4209u v plex group zoning remote point module

Honeywell 4209U - V-Plex Group Zoning Remote Point Module

Great V-Plex Expansion or Group Zoning Module!
Submitted on 12/04/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell 4209U is a V-Plex Grouping Zone Module. Its main use is to provide additional zone inputs for 2-wire smoke detectors to be used with V-Plex Polling Loop Panels. This includes security panels from the Honeywell VISTA TURBO Series, like the VISTA 128BPT and the VISTA 250BPT. The Honeywell 4209U features four (4) individual zone inputs, and it can support up to 16 different 2-wire smoke detectors per zone. Overall, this product works very well in performing its intended tasks. We give it a perfect 5 Star rating.

The main thing to like about the Honeywell 4209U is that it increases the number of available 2-wire smoke detector zones. Zone 1 on the VISTA-128BPT and VISTA-250BPT panels can be used to support 2-wire smoke detectors. But if you need additional 2-wire smoke zone support, then this module is perfect for you. The module can be configured to uniquely identify four (4) supervised zones in non-grouped mode, or two (2) supervised zones in grouped mode. You can also choose between programming the module using Serial Number mode or Dip Switch mode. Dip Switch mode should only be used with older V-Plex Polling Loop Panels that don’t support the use of serial numbers.

There are some minor downsides to the Honeywell 4209U. For one, you need to use 2k EOL resistors with every protection zone. These resistors come included with the module, so that's convenient. But having to add them all is somewhat tedious. Still, this is a necessary evil to making sure no one is tampering with the life-safety zones on your expansion module. Additionally, you can only use the Honeywell 4209U with panels that support a V-Plex Polling Loop. This somewhat limits its versatility. But all things considered, these are minor drawbacks. We give the Honeywell 4209U 5 Stars.

Good: Increases Available 2-wire Smoke zones, Configurable for Grouped or Non-Grouped Settings, Choose Serial Number or Zone Number (Dip Switch) Programming

Bad: Requires 2k EOL Resistors at Each Protection Zone, For V-Plex Polling Loop Panels Only

Bottom Line: 5 Stars

Jonard jic 1022 wire stripper tool

Jonard JIC-1022 - Wire Stripper Tool

Awesome Wire Stripper!
Submitted on 12/04/2019 Alarm Grid

The Jonard JIC-1022 is a convenient wire stripping tool. It is used for preparing electrical wire and making it suitable for practical use. The device is great for new and experienced users alike, and it is ideal for anyone needing to strip and prepare some electrical wiring. The Jonard JIC-1022 really offers some convenient features that help make it the go-to wire-stripping tool for many DIYers. We have no problem giving this outstanding product a 5 Star rating.

There are indeed many aspects to appreciate about the Jonard JIC-1022. For one, the device has an integrated spring coil to prevent fatigue when preparing cable. Its wire looping and bending slots are built-in for added convenience. We appreciate its black oxide finish which adds a nice touch to the tool. A locking mechanism provides safety in case children manage to access this device. The cutting surface is hardened for superb performance. It can support wire gauges ranging from 10 AWG to 22 AWG. This makes it suitable for nearly any wire-stripping application.

It's very hard to find any negative aspects about the Jonard JIC-1022. Really, the only negative we can come up with is that it will not actually strip and cut wires for you. Even with this convenient and easy to use tool, you still need to actually strip the wires yourself! But all joking aside, our technicians really like the Jonard JIC-1022 Wire Stripping Tool. This is our go-to tool whenever we need to prepare some wires. We give this product 5 Stars, and we wholeheartedly recommend it for anyone in need of a new wire stripping tool. It gets the Alarm Grid Seal of Approval!

Good: Integrated Spring Coil, Built-In Wire Looping & Bending Slots, Black Oxide Finish, Locking Mechanism for Safety, Hardened Cutting Surfaces, Supports 10 AWG to 22 AWG Wires

Bad: Doesn't Actually Strip/Cut Wires For You

Bottom Line: 5 Stars

Honeywell 4959SN - V-Plex Overhead Door Contact

Great Industrial Contact Sensor!
Submitted on 12/04/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell 4959SN is a hardwired overhead door contact designed for use with V-Plex Polling Loop Panels. This includes Honeywell VISTA TURBO Series Panels like the VISTA 128BPT and the VISTA 250BPT. It can only be used with Honeywell Panels that support V-Plex Polling Loop devices. The Honeywell 4959SN is notable for its 2 inch magnetic spacing gap that makes it suitable for use with industrial overhead doors and garage doors. This is an excellent door contact if you are looking for something that meets industrial grade standards. We give it a perfect 5 Star rating.

There are several things to like about the Honeywell 4959SN. The biggest advantage to the sensor is its 2-inch maximum magnet spacing gap. This lets it be used nicely with nearly any industrial overhead door or with a garage door. Our technicians have found that this sensor is extremely versatile and can be used with many different applications. We also like the fact that this sensor comes with an aluminum L-bracket for easy installation.

However, there are still some downsides to the Honeywell 4959SN that should be discussed. The biggest limitation is the fact that it is for Honeywell V-Plex Polling Loop Panels only. You cannot use this device with non-polling loop panels. Unfortunately, this puts a major restriction on the systems that it can be used with. This sensor is also usually considered overkill for standard door and windows. It is really only used with industrial overhead doors or garage doors. But if you have a compatible system and need an industrial grade contact, then this is an excellent device to consider. We give it 5 Stars because it fulfills its role very well. It is an ideal sensor if you have a VISTA Polling Looping Panel and you need an industrial contact.

Good: 2 Inch Magnet Spacing Gap, Aluminum L-Bracket

Bad: V-Plex Polling Loop Only, Overkill for Most Doors/Windows

Bottom Line: 5 Stars

Linear PS15Z-2 - Z-Wave Plug-in Appliance Module

Decent Plug-In Module
Submitted on 12/04/2019 Alarm Grid

The Linear PS15Z-2 is a Z-Wave plug-in module that allows a connected device to be controlled across a Z-Wave network. The device supports incandescent loads of up to 600 Watts, resistive loads of up to 1,800 Watts, or up to a 1/2 HP fan motor. This is an easy to use Z-Wave plug-in module, though it is a bit outdated by today's standards. We give it a strong 4 Star rating.

There are many things to like about the Linear PS15Z-2. For one, the device is easy to use. You just need to plug it in and enroll it with your Z-Wave network. Then connect any device within the load limit to use it with your Z-Wave network. There is a designated outlet on the Linear PS15Z-2 for Z-Wave control. The other outlet is a pass-through outlet, which can be used with any connected device for non-Z-Wave functionality. The pass-through outlet is a nice touch, as it means that the module will not hog the entire receptacle. Being able to use this device with a standard 120VAC outlet is very convenient!

But there are some downsides to consider with the Linear PS15Z-2. For one, it only uses standard Z-Wave. You will not be able to take advantage of the extended range of Z-Wave Plus with this device, even if you have a Z-Wave Plus controller. For that reason, the device is considered to be outdated by most standards. Additionally, the device uses a 3-prong connector. If you have an older outlet with 2-prongs, then you will need an adapter piece. This can mean a trip to the hardware store if you don't already have an adapter lying around somewhere. It should also be mentioned that this device has been discontinued by the manufacturer.

Overall, the Linear PS15Z-2 is fine if you already have one, but those in the market for a new Z-Wave plug-in module will want to consider something newer, preferably a module that supports Z-Wave Plus. We give the Linear PS15Z-2 4 Stars.

Good: Easy to Use, Pass-Through Outlet, Works w/ Standard 120VAC Outlets

Bad: Not Z-Wave Plus, 3-Prong Connector, Discontinued

Bottom Line: 4 Stars

Honeywell 4193snp two zone v plex interface module

Honeywell 4193SNP - Two Zone V-Plex Interface Module

Nice Polling Loop Expander!
Submitted on 12/04/2019 Alarm Grid

The Honeywell 4193SNP is a two (2) zone expander for Honeywell VISTA V-Plex Polling Loop Panels. Only VISTA Panels with a polling loop can support this module. The module adds both a single supervised zone and a single unsupervised zone to your VISTA Polling Loop Panel. This polling loop zone expander will connect with the V-Plex Polling Loop Bus. A conventional, non-polling loop device used with the module will be converted into an addressable polling loop device, and the VISTA System will automatically learn the Serial Number. This is a very convenient device that is perfect for users needing to add one or two zones to their polling loop panel. We give the Honeywell 4193SNP 5 Stars.

There are so many things to like about the Honeywell 4193SNP. The biggest advantage is that it expands the polling loop and allows additional conventional wired devices to be used with your hardwired system. Since the connected device will be converted into an addressable device, you can technically use non-polling loop devices with the 4193SNP. And since the system automatically learns-in the Serial Number, no DIP switch addressing is required. This makes it very easy to set up. And the small size is great, as it can fit nicely into your existing metal enclosure. We also love the fact that the Honeywell 4193SNP has a very low current draw at just 1.7mA.

There are some downsides to the Honeywell 4193SNP that should be considered. The most obvious is that the device is for VISTA Polling Loop Panels only. While the device provides two (2) additional zones, only Loop 1 is supervised using a 10k EOLR. You can only use Loop 2 if Loop 1 is already being used, and Loop 2 will not be supervised. As a further restriction, the device used with Loop 2 must have a Normally Closed (NC) input. You cannot use a Normally Open (NO) device with Loop 2. While these restrictions are important, they do not take away from the device's positive attributes. We give the Honeywell 4193SNP a 5 Star rating.

Good: Expands Polling Loop, Can Support Non-Polling Loop Devices, No DIP Switch Addressing, Small Size

Bad: Polling Loop Panels Only, Loop 2 Unsupervised, Loop 2 Can Only Be Used If Loop 1 is Used, Loop 2 Only Supports NC Input

Bottom Line: 5 Stars