Reviews

Honeywell l3000pk lynx plus wireless security system

Don't need all the bells and whistles.
Submitted on 09/14/2012

I looked at the lyxn touch and talked to Sterling about the difference btwn the l300 and the l5100 but i really dont care ab the home automation or the touchscreen so i went with the l300 since it was alot less $$. I knew i wanted Honeywell since they seemed to be the best brand after looking around the interwebs and this kit lived up to the name. Some people would prob really like the touch but i dont need it.

Honeywell l5100pk 4g 5811 l5100 lynx touch cellular wireless security system with 5811 window and door sensors

Great kit!
Submitted on 09/14/2012

After tons of research and many helpful calls to Alarm Grid with endless questions (sorry!) I finally chose this kit to build my security system. I added some extra wireless transmitters for all my doors and windows but this had everything else I needed. Love the cellular communicator because I can use Total Connect on my iPhone to check on my alarm system while I'm at work. This kit is also less expensive than buying the L5100PK and the cell communicator separately so that was a nice added bonus. Would recommend to anyone looking for wireless system that can do it all!

Honeywell l5100 wifi alarmnet lynx touch l5100 security system wifi alarm monitoring communicator

Does what it says it'll do
Submitted on 09/12/2012

Got the communicator to enable WIFI on my L5100 panel. I'm not very handy, but I got it installed pretty quick. I had to call Alarm Grid one time to ask a question about how to get install it, and they were happy to help. Got it up after within 10 minutes of getting it in the mail. It does what it says it'll do and it's worked ever since I got it into the panel.

Honeywell l5000pk lynx touch wireless security system

Not bad... not bad at all
Submitted on 09/12/2012

The manuals were really simple. I quickly installed the system and got it working. It's highly customizable, and really simple to use and the key fob that comes with the pack works really well which made me happy.

The pack comes with three different manuals, but they are summarized, and it's really simple to figure out. the manuals really helped me figure out how to customize my system. I had a couple problems during setup, but the manuals pretty much old me exactly how to fix them. For those DIYers who haven't really touched one of these things, but who are excited to try there is a small learning curve. I, for exapmle, had to learn and understand loops, faults and some other words I'd never really dealt with until I started working with these alarm systems. Luckily, any mistakes you make are easily undone and modification and customization is easy becauseeof how intuitive the system is.

I needed a bit of technical support when I was trying to set it up. So I called Alarm Grid, they got me up and running. they understood the product really well and were able to help me with my hangups. So, while I've read on other reviews that Honeywell won't support the product unless your a licensed dealer or something like that, the alternative was simple, and I didn't really have any snags to speak of.

Honeywell vista 20p wired alarm control panel

DIY Install
Submitted on 09/12/2012

Did a DIY install of the Vista 20p. Coupled it with the Tuxedo touch. I don't think I've evr had more fun. I'm not a giant alarm system nerd, so I don' tknow what's out there as an alternative, but this was a blast to install, and I like the functionality of tthe Tuxedo Touch. It looks great, and it functions awesome.

Honeywell lynxtouch l5100 lynx touch wireless alarm control panel


Submitted on 09/12/2012

The setup was amazingly quick. I got the L5100 panel with the LT-Cable, and it took about 15 minutes to get the panel installed. Its way way better than the last panel I had, and it's easy to use.

Honeywell lt cable lynx touch power supply cable from above

LT-CABLE made my L5100 installation much easier!
Submitted on 09/11/2012

I went with a wireless system because I don't like dealing with wires but the old l3000 still had to have a transformer. I cant tell you how much i struggled with stripping those damn lil wires. Now that Honeywell finally has a cable that makes connectng a transformer easy, I upgraded to the new Lynx Touch. The LT-cable is great for any DIYer.

Honeywell tuxedo touch talking color graphic touchscreen alarm keypad

Self-Instlal
Submitted on 09/08/2012

Use this keypad with my Vista 20p. It's amazing. I don't know if I've had more people ask about my alarm system than I did when I got the tuxedo. It looks great, it makes the Vista's functional, and I absolutely love the enhancing apps that i can install.

Honeywell tuxedo touch talking color graphic touchscreen alarm keypad

Had to order cable sepearately, but we loved it when we got it up and running
Submitted on 09/06/2012

Easy to use. We absolutely love the Tuxedo Touch. Ours didn't come with a power supply, so we actually had to buy it seperately. I'm not sure if this is how all Tuxedo's come, but that was our only complaint.

Honeywell l5000pk lynx touch wireless security system

Took 3 hours, and I neve rhad to think abotu it again
Submitted on 09/03/2012

Got the system up and running in about 2.5/3 hours. It wasn't a problem at all. I have installed systems before, so this wasn't new to me at all. the L5000 control panel tha tis included is goign to be obsolete. I think they are switching it out for the L5100 which in my experience is a better panel. But this one was perfect for what we needed. It doens' thave as much functionality as the L5100, but it does a lot and it does it in a way that is difficult to screw up.

A+ from us.